top of page

Wet Wednesday. (Book cover Project)


For one of my projects I had to redesign one of my favorite books cover. It was a hard decision to make (because I have so many books that I enjoy reading) but in the end I went with the book "Wings" by Aprilynne Pike. I Loved this book so much when I was in middle school! (one of the reason why I loved this book was because when I was in elementary school I always wished I could have been a fairy myself. (OK I know it was a childish wish but I'm not lying!)

What I wanted to put into my design was what I felt when I was reading the book. It was all so real to me but at the same time magical with a hint of romance. So I Went with a nice pastel, realistic look. (You can find the final design look in the "2015-16" section of this portfolio website.) It was hard trying to find a nice HD realistic photo online so I had an idea. Instead of trying to find photos, why not take some for myself! I asked my little sister if she would help me out with this project. It was hard to convince her but eventually she agreed.

The next day after getting out of my classes my sister and I headed to the closest park that we could find. Once we finally found the perfect spot to take the pictures it started to rain on us. The good news was that no one was there to get in the background of the photos and it helped me to capture the beauty of the plants and the nature too but the bad news was that I had to protect the camera from the rain which was harder than it sounds.

When I got home I had to decide what photo to use for the front cover of my book design. The problem was that there were so many amazing photos that I couldn't just choose one. I ended up having four photos that I absolutely loved. So I designed the the other book covers from the series and put them on the first book cover design that I was working on. (The fun part about this project was that I got to Photoshop different colored wings on my sister!)

This has to be one of my favorite projects that I worked on and I just loved how it turn out at the end! Hopefully I get to design more book covers in my future projects!


bottom of page